Home Invites Members Groups Events Careers Videos News Photos Blogs Polls Singles Forums Chat
Home > News > Post Content

Alabama State University Faculty Member Given Award as University Prepares for New Academic Year (298 hits)

Noted ASU researcher Dr. Derrick Dean receives STEM Faculty of the Year Award at the 2017 Fall Faculty Institute this week

Alabama State University faculty members were welcomed back to campus during the 2017 Fall Faculty Institute held on Wednesday (Aug. 9) in the Ralph D. Abernathy College of Education Building as the academy prepares to welcome students to its Fall semester next week.

The theme for the faculty convocation was “Sustaining Excellence, Enhancing Quality and Improving Performance.”
Interim President Leon C. Wilson welcomed the faculty back after the summer break and thanked them for their dedication and for giving students a full college experience.

“I applaud your commitment to Alabama State University, coming back year after year,” Wilson said. “I trust that as we face this new (academic) year together that you bring with you the energy, a renewed spirit of excellence and, more than anything else, the determination to make this place a great place to work and educate our students.”

Chair of the Faculty Senate, Dr. Douglas Strout, a professor of chemistry, welcomed his colleagues back and encouraged them to aim for continued excellence.

“Let’s stop for a minute and focus on what has not changed, what is constant at ASU and that’s excellence,” Strout said. “And you, we, the faculty, are the primary engine that runs that excellence; and we are going to walk into the classroom and demand excellence.”
Faculty members also participated in several information sessions and college meetings. The speakers included Dr. Brenda Gill, ASU associate professor; Mariette Marsh, MPA, CIP; Dr. Courtney Griffin, assistant VP of Enrollment Management; Dr. Ronda Westry, director of Retention; and Dr. Denise Vaughn, QEP director.


During the meeting, Dr. Derrick Dean, director of the Biomedical Engineering program in the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math, was named the 2017 STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math) Faculty of the Year award winner. Dean is a highly respected scientist and intellectual who is responsible for bringing millions of dollars in grants to the University. He also coordinates a number of research projects that allow students to work beside skilled faculty members.
Posted By: Reginald Culpepper
Thursday, August 17th 2017 at 8:31PM
You can also click here to view all posts by this author...

Report obscenity | post comment
Share |
Please Login To Post Comments...

More From This Author
Former Texas Southern University athlete and coach inducted into SWAC Hall of Fame
Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities
Book Review: Diversify or Die - How Diversity and Inclusion Are Impacting Businesses Everywhere
Millions in grants funds Access to Innovation initiative for Johnson C. Smith University
Secure Your Home Before Hitting the Road for the Holidays
Alcorn State University introduces paperless graduate clearance forms process
Alabama State University Turkey Day Classic Event Schedule Lists Exciting Fun for the Whole Family
Star of TV's A Different World at Alabama State University this Thursday! Open to the public.
Forward This Article Entry!
News Home

(Advertise Here)
Who's Online
>> more | invite 
Latest Photos
>> more | add
Most Popular Bloggers
elynor moss has logged 109446 blog subscribers!
agnes levine has logged 30495 blog subscribers!
gregory boulware, esq. has logged 18544 blog subscribers!
pam perry has logged 1980 blog subscribers!
min sammy jackson has logged 1637 blog subscribers!
>> more | add